The Awakening

 

I frequent IMDB and had come across this movie’s trailer last year. Because it was British, and possibly Indie, it didn’t play anywhere around me. A pattern for me. Anyway, I saw it came out on Redbox this Tuesday so after renting Silent Hill 2 on Tuesday night, I decided to do a double feature week.

Before renting it, I went on IMDB to see what the average star rating was and to read a few reviews. I’ve been disappointed by “horror” films recently so I wanted to see what other people had thought of it. It was given a 6.4 out of 10. Good enough for me.

The movie opens up with an all black screen, except for a ghostly fog apparition in one corner. White lettering appears to give you a little background information for the movie’s setting. Very creepy indeed.

Cut to exterior door to a house, it’s opened slightly to reveal a middle-aged mousey woman who says, “Are you prepared?” Even more movie greatness. Possible foreshadowing?

I knew from the first clip that this movie was going to deliver. It was a nice psychological thriller. You’re not quite sure what exactly is going on until close to the last scene. Even when you think you know, you don’t. I love movies like that. Great acting by Rebecca Hall, Dominic West, Imelda Staunton, and Isaac Hempstead Wright (also known as Bran on HBO’s Game of Thrones). I definitely recommend it.

There are only a few moments that I didn’t like. One scene in particular is when Florence is in the bath. It’s been done before, and I’ve even seen it before in a horror movie, 2003’s “High Tension.” Masturbation scenes are typically awkward to me. The one in this movie seemed ridiculous and out-of-place. You’ll know what I mean when you watch the movie. There is a romance between Florence and Robert that seemed a bit forced. It was unnecessary. And there was one moment of bad CGI. But these are minor grievances.

Grade: A

Leave a Reply

