Silent Hill: Revelation

silent hill 2

I remember watching the original “Silent Hill” when it came out in 2006. While it wasn’t a cinematic masterpiece, I found it to be an entertaining horror movie. Fast forward 7 years, and I’m excited to rent the sequel. I’m hoping to be scared, will it deliver?!

The first scenes are of a nightmare the now almost 18-year-old Sharon/Alessa is having in a drab and sparsely decorated bedroom. “Don’t go to Silent Hill,” says a goth version of herself. Queue  over dramatic cheese fest.

First of all, whoever wrote the dialogue for this movie had to be a total amateur. ( Upon further research, the writer AND director of the film is Michael J. Bassett. I have never heard of him. He has done some other things, but nothing that I find noteworthy) So, the actors were already fighting an uphill battle to make this movie decent. However, the acting was so cheesy and unbelievable that I had to laugh, literally, out loud at several scenes. While shaking my head in disbelief at others. Sean Bean, you are a good actor, you were in “Lord of the Rings,” not to mention the first “Silent Hill.” Kit Harrington, you are great as Jon Snow in Game of Thrones. I expected more from you guys.

117744_be                              “I’ve forgotten how to act! Why am I in this movie?!”

To sugar coat it, it was an entertaining movie for all the wrong reasons. I found it to be more humorous than horrifying. The ending left it open for another movie. I would love to give more details, but I don’t want to ruin it on the off-chance you actually wanted to watch  it. The one detail I feel I need to mention was a seemingly random reference to the seal of Metatron? I know the movies are based off of the popular game series, but I have never played them so I had no idea what was going on. The first time I heard them mention it, I thought they said Megatron, as in, transformers. As in, wtf. Then they said it a few more times and I realized it was a t and not a g. Confusing and disappointing me at the same time. A surprise appearance by a giant evil robot would have been a welcome sight.

boromir_silenthill

Final thought: If it comes on TV and you have the option to watch it for free? And you enjoyed the first movie on some level, go for it. I wouldn’t recommend paying for it.

Final Grade: C-

One thought on “Silent Hill: Revelation”

Leave a Reply

